Posted by: Bojangles Traveler | December 24, 2009

The End, But Not Good-Bye

Okay.

So the trip is coming to a close. This is it. As I talked about in the previous post, I’ve met some wonderful people.

But I want to point out something important: when I decided to set on this journey, the goal wasn’t just to visit every Bojangles in the continental US (one day I’ll visit Honduras), it was to get famous.

It was all about me and my craveometer.

But a funny thing happen on the way to fame. I began working out, I began talking to people, and I began meeting people. People from all walks of life, not just people working in Bojangles’ (although I did meet a lot of them).

And what I realized is this: people are good. The best people are in the south eastern part of the US, and they are good people. They’re equally willing to talk to a stranger over a biscuit or a beer.

If you tell them you’re new in their town, they’ll take the time to tell you about their town. Like the time I was in Dothan, Alabama (named for Genesis 37:17: “let us go to Dothan”), and the people proudly told me that it was the Peanut Capital of the World. Apparently, a quarter of the peanuts grown in the US are grown around Dothan.

See, who knew?

Or the time I was in Athens, Tennessee, and I learned about the famous “Battle of Athens”. I’ll bet you didn’t know about the battle of Athens. I didn’t. But it was a battle let by the citizens to take back the corrupt local government. And old-timer named Bill told me what it meant to his town over a 2 piece meal.

There was also the 74th annual Fiddler’s Convention in Galax, Virginia. (http://www.oldfiddlersconvention.com/info.htm). Missed that by a couple of weeks, but if you ever want to hear Blue Grass played, just find yourself in Galax one day. It’s not on the menu, but that day one of my sides was Blue Grass.

So what now?

I don’t know. Like I said, when this started, it was all about me. Now, it’s all about the people. I think over the course of the next few weeks, I’ll look through my notes and offer some other highlights of the hundreds of towns I visited in this great nation.

Thanks Bojangles’. If it wasn’t for you, I wouldn’t have had this adventure.

I leave you with these parting words of wisdom about Bojangles’.

Until next time…..

The Bojangles’ Traveler

Leave a Reply

Categories

